Hockey Alberta Provincials history tracks back to 1970 when 28 champions were crowned in seven divisions; Senior, Intermediate, Junior, Juvenile, Midget, Bantam, and Peewee. The model would stay the same for the most part, as divisions and categories were tweaked over the years.

Some information is missing from over the years, especially during the 1970s. 

Here are some notable historical facts:

  • In 1976, Provincial champions were all awarded based on categories for the first time. Before this, Peewee champions were still being awarded based on their Zone.
  • In 1980, Calgary Majestics became the first female team to win a Provincial Championship, becoming the winners in the Intermediate Female division.
  • In 1984, Calgary Bethany Chapel were crowned Provincial Champions of the Church League Division, which was only awarded for two years, in 1984 and 1985.
  • In 1985, Falun won a Provincial Championship in a No-Hit division. Unrelated, but Falun is home to an NHL-rink, sort of. The outdoor rink is made from the old boards and glass from the Saddledome in Calgary.
  • In 1986, the Intermediate division was removed, giving way to Senior hockey. Eight Senior Provincials were crowned that year.
  • 1986 was also the first year Atom Provincials began. It was only a one year trial, but in 1988, Atom Provincials were once again awarded.
  • 1989, the Edmonton Broncos became Female Midget Provincial Champions, marking the first time a female team in the minor stream won.
  • 1996 was the last year in which Hockey Alberta differentiated Rural and City Provincial Champions. That year, Edson was named Rural Champions and Calgary North Central was named City Champions in Bantam A.
  • In 2008, Provincial Categorization by Division Model was approved for trial by Hockey Alberta’s Minor Council and Board of Directors and was adopted as Regulation in the Spring of 2011.
  • In 2022, the Provincial Championships shifted to a model where League Champions, hosts and wild card teams competed for minor provincial crowns in Tiers 1-4. Minor Female provincials continued to use the Female A and B categorization. 
2023 2022 2021
2019 2018 2017 2016 2015 2014
2013 2012 2011 2010 2009 2008 2007 2006 2005 2004
2003 2002 2001 2000 1999 1998 1997 1996 1995 1994
1993  1992 1991 1990 1989 1988 1987 1986 1985 1984
1983  1982 1981 1980 1979
1977 1976 1975
1973  1972 1971 1970            

Our Sponsors

Upcoming Events

Dec. 25, 2023

Christmas Day
North Pole

read more »

Jan. 01, 2024

New Years Day

read more »

RAMP Registration

Join thousands of association partners using RAMP Registration Solutions.

More Information

RAMP Official Assigning

#1 with Officials...for very good reasons.

More Information

RAMP Websites

Manage your identity from the palm of your hand to the top of your desk.

More Information

RAMP Team App

Keep your coaches, parents, athletes, and fans connected, seamlessly.

More Information